Jani: Music as a Mirror / Dandelion Quintett, Kontai Ensemble

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
The music of contemporary composer Sophia Jani is characterized by its great independence from structures and conventions as well as by its musical poetry within a minimalist approach. Her debut album “Music as a Mirror” presents works for woodwind quintet, string quartet and piano. In the largely male environment with this album Sophia Jani aims to take a different perspective and position as a unique female voice. Sophia Jani's music lives from influences of various artists of all times and nations: from Bach and Schubert to the European and American avant-garde of the 20th and 21st century, to avant-pop artists like Björk and Ryuichi Sakamoto, or electronic music producers such as Tim Hecker, Laurel Halo or Skee Mask. In this way, she creates music that spans a dramaturgical arc while suspending any sense of time - calm, powerful, elegant, dance-like. Thus she finds a poetic minimalism that takes its listeners by the hand and imaginatively and cleverly opens a new horizon.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 18, 2022

  • Catalog Number: 0302586NM

  • UPC: 885470025865

  • Label: Neue Meister

  • Period: 21st Century

  • Composer: Sophia Jani

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Dandelion Quintett