Kuhnau: Complete Sacred Works, Vol. 6 / Meyer, Opella Musica

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Vol. 6 of this complete recording presents what might be termed the opposite ends of the broad spectrum covered by Kuhnau’s music, both in formal matters and in chronological respects. On the one hand, in “Ihr Himmel jubiliert von oben” and “Lobet, ihr Himmel, den Herrn” we have two magnificent Ascension cantatas for large ensembles from Kuhnau’s late period as St. Thomas music director. On the other hand, “Bone Jesu, care Jesu” and “Laudate pueri Dominum,” works of Italian stamp scored for chamber ensemble from Kuhnau’s time as a St. Thomas organist with a wide range of activities, offer exemplary illustrations of the sacred concerto of the late seventeenth century. “Ich freue mich im Herrn” for four concertists, choir, and strings occupies a middle position between these works and offers an interesting mixture consisting of the concerto-aria-cantata popular in the late seventeenth century and the rondo form and is borne musically by the affection of joy. Once again the Opella Musica ensemble of soloists founded by Gregor Meyer in 2011 and the historically oriented Camerata Lipsiensis orchestra interpret the cantatas on the basis of the recently published critical musicological edition.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 15, 2021

  • Catalog Number: 555305-2

  • UPC: 761203530526

  • Label: CPO

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Baroque

  • Composer: Johann Kuhnau

  • Conductor: Gregor Meyer

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Camerata Lipsiensis, Opella Musica

  • Performer: Heidi Maria Taubert, Tobias Hunger