McNeely: Threnody (double-vinyl)

Regular price $32.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Jim McNeely: The Jazz Orchestra of the Concertgebouw (JOC) is one of the world’s great jazz ensembles. I’ve known some of these musicians since the late ‘90’s. But I’d never worked with the whole JOC until January 2020. Then Juan Martinez, JOC artistic director (and baritone saxophonist), emailed me. He proposed that I write a CD’s worth of music for the band, featuring all their soloists. After many more months of Zoom rehearsals (ugh!), scheduling delays, and even more Zoom (ugh!) we got into the studio in Hilversum for three intense days last November.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: May 05, 2023

  • UPC: 0608917475722

  • Catalog Number: JOCLP 016

  • Label: Jazzorchestra Concertgebouw

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Composer: Jim McNeely

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Jazz Orchestra of the Concertgebouw