Naxos Bach Edition 4 - Bach: Harpsichord Concertos II / Hill

Regular price $13.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
One of the nicest things about Naxos' complete survey of Bach's orchestral music is that each disc always includes a substantial musical "bonus" that distinguishes it from the numerous competing performances available. In this case, conductor Helmut Müller-Brühl and his intrepid band of keyboard and string players offer a reconstruction of the Concerto for Three Harpsichords BWV 1064 in its original version for three violins. Comparison of the two versions is fascinating, not least because the players offer a fractionally more expansive tempo in the slow movement of the violin version, acknowledging the stringed instrument's superior ability to sustain a long, lyrical melody. It's this sensitivity to the natural qualities of the solo instruments themselves that allows the players to set ideal tempos, and to perform each work with just the right mix of high spirits and idiomatic musicianship. In short, these are performances as good as any, and a great buy. --David Hurwitz,

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 8554605

  • UPC: 636943460528

  • Label: Naxos

  • Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach

  • Conductor: Helmut Müller-Brühl

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Cologne Chamber Orchestra

  • Performer: Christine Pichlmeier, Christoph Anselm Noll, Elisabeth Kufferath, Gerald Hambitzer, Michael Behringer, Robert Hill, Winifried Rademacher