Nielsen & Lindberg: Clarinet Concertos / Manz, German Radio Philharmonic

Nielsen & Lindberg: Clarinet Concertos / Manz, German Radio Philharmonic

Regular price $20.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Sebastian Manz writes: “It seems only logical at first glance to unite two Scandinavian composers, Carl Nielsen and Magnus Lindberg, on one [album], and it must be said that we are talking about two works that have permanently influenced and changed me as a musician. I played the Clarinet Concerto op. 57 by Carl Nielsen in 2008 for the finale of the ARD International Music Competition and won first prize. It was a huge challenge back then for me to have to play it by heart, as the rules required. Nerves, sleepless nights and superstitions about being able to learn something better by heart by having the score under one’s pillow at night all led on stage (with the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra behind me) to one of my most intensive experiences ever. This piece of music is challenging both technically and musically, to the extent that after each performance I have the feeling of being not just a better clarinetist, but a more mature human being; it makes me realize that qualitatively high-value art requires time, not just to mature within ourselves, but to be recognized as such at all.”

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 01, 2021

  • Catalog Number: 0301351BC

  • UPC: 885470013510

  • Label: Berlin Classics

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Carl Nielsen, Magnus Lindberg

  • Conductor: Magnus Lindberg

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: German Radio Philharmonic Orchestra

  • Performer: David Fernandez Alonso, Marc Trenel, Sebastian Manz