Verdi, Mozart, Puccini, Dvořák, Lehár: Rachel / Willis-Sørensen, Kaufmann, Chaslin, Orchestra del Teatro Carlo Felice di Genova

Regular price $11.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

“Rachel” the debut album from American soprano Rachel Willis-Sørenson, showcases the depth and variety of her incredible voice, which leading French daily Le Monde cites as “without a doubt one of the most impressive voices in the opera world.” The album includes key arias and scenes from Verdi, Mozart, Puccini, Dvořák, and Lehár that reflect her stellar career performing on the world’s most prestigious opera stages. Ms. Willis-Sørensen is joined by one of her vocal idols on the famous duet from La Bohème: tenor Jonas Kaufmann, here making his first guest appearance of this kind.

The new album sees this immensely gifted singer, who possesses an impressive vocal and dramatic range, explore a wide swathe of repertoire to showcase her versatility, vocal depth, and artistry. An intimate portrait of the artist at this stage in her career, each piece included on the album was carefully selected by Ms. Willis-Sørensen as she presents a collection of her favorite arias and scenes that she hopes will move the listener as they have moved her. Her dramatic expressivity and vocal virtuosity are both on display in full force, in arias ranging from the album’s centerpiece Verdi scenes, with weighty roles such as Desdemona in Otello, Leonora in Il Trovatore and Violetta in La Traviata, to the ‘Vilja-Lied’ from Lehár’s operetta The Merry Widow and ‘Song to the Moon’ from Dvořák’s Rusalka.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 08, 2022

  • Catalog Number: 19439968352

  • UPC: 194399683521

  • Label: Sony

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Romantic

  • Performer: Rachel Willis-Sørensen