Saint-Saens: Ascanio / Tourniaire, Haute Ecole de Geneve

Regular price $40.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Ascanio is the student of Benvenuto Cellini, a legendary Florentine sculptor. This latter character’s genius and romances came to know a great operatic destiny. The name Ascanio is also the title of a grand lyrical drama by Camille Saint-Saëns which premiered in 1890, and is based on Paul Meurice’s play. The opera was abridged several times and reassembled despite the composer’s strong objections. It is a wonderful work, far too little-known, in which Italian lyricism, Wagnerian influence and French elegance combine. For the very first time, we will be able to hear the complete premiere performance of the version abiding by the 1888 autograph manuscript. It is brought to us by the impassioned conductor, Guillaume Tourniaire, and a topflight, French-speaking cast. They are accompanied by the Orchestra and Choirs from the Grand Théâtre de Genève and the Haute École de Musique. All this has been meticulously and enthusiastically recorded by B Records.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 12, 2018

  • Catalog Number: LBM013

  • UPC: 3770005527136

  • Label: B Records

  • Number of Discs: 3

  • Composer: Camille Saint-Saëns

  • Conductor: Guillaume Tourniaire

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Geneva Grand Theatre Chorus, Geneva Haute Ecole de Musique Orchestra

  • Performer: Bernard Richter, Clémence Tilquin, Eve-maud Hubeaux, Jean Teitgen, Jean-François Lapointe, Karina Gauvin