Smith: Three / Smith

Smith: Three / Smith

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
“Three” collects three shimmering new works by composer-performer-instrument builder Chas Smith, a musician who has created his own musical world--complete with its own unique instruments--a world of expansive musical tapestries and carefully sculpted textures. This beautifully ringing music, which displays his dualistic fascination with the scientific and the sensual, is both invitingly intimate and darkly brooding as explores the unique timbres of Smith’s sculptural metallophones and his steel guitars. “With Smith’s music, the sounds are as compelling as his concepts and instruments.” (The Wire) “Smith’s pieces are music of experiment and discovery: a way of enabling the physical world to ‘speak’ by investigating…its sonic properties.” (Int’l Record Review) As a performer, Smith has been heard playing both steel guitar and his unique metallophones on feature film scores by Thomas Newman, Christopher Young, Charlie Clouser, Mark Mothersbaugh, Jeff Danna, and John Williams and on recordings by composer Harold Budd.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: CB0061

  • UPC: 800413006121

  • Label: Cold Blue Music

  • Composer: Chas Smith

  • Performer: Chas Smith