Swain: Piano Music vol. 1 - Sonatas & Character Pieces / Altwegg

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
The English composer-pianist Freda Swain (1902–85) left behind a huge legacy of music that was largely unknown even during her own lifetime. Her compositions – hundreds of them, in a series of large boxes – found their way to the Swiss pianist Timon Altwegg, who begins his survey of her piano music with these three mighty sonatas. They are astonishing discoveries: big-boned, virtuosic pieces, full of wild energy, crossing from late Romanticism to a more modern idiom – from Rachmaninov to Bartók, so to speak – and with Bax’s fondness for Celtic seascapes and a hint of Debussyan Impressionism.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 01, 2022

  • Catalog Number: TOCC0579

  • UPC: 5060113445797

  • Label: Toccata Classics

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Freda Swain

  • Performer: Timon Altwegg