Weinberg: Symphony 18, Trumpet Concerto / Lande

Regular price $11.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Mieczyslaw Weinberg’s Eighteenth Symphony is the centerpiece of his symphonic trilogy On the Threshold of War, focusing on the traumas of the Soviet Union in World War II and stands as one of the most significant creations of his later years. Using texts by important Soviet poets, the work reflects on war with eloquent expressive power. The Trumpet Concerto is amongst Weinberg’s most substantial and diverse works from the 1960s. Ranging in effects from pointillist modernism to the grotesque and sardonic, Shostakovich described it as a “symphony for trumpet and orchestra.”

"[The 18th Symphony] is a complex work in every way worthy of the later Weinberg and his blossoming during the thaw. These are excellently solid performances of works well worth having. Lande and the amassed choral and instrumental forces give us a performance worthy of the brilliance of the music. Very recommended. Weinberg!" -- Gapplegate Classical-Modern Music Review [6/2014]

“The present performance boasts a compelling contribution from Andrew Balio, who revels in the witticism of the Finale while also encapsulating the darker undertones of the wistful central movement. The St Petersburg State Symphony offers strong support.” -- BBC Music Magazine [7/2014]

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 8573190

  • UPC: 747313319077

  • Label: Naxos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Mieczyslaw Weinberg

  • Conductor: Vladimir Lande

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: St. Petersburg State Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Andrew Balio