Adès: Märchentänze & Other World Premieres / Kuusisto, Nuñez, Collon, Finnish RSO

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

In the Autumn of 2021, the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra together with its new chief conductor, Nicholas Collon, arranged a Thomas Adès festival in Helsinki devoted to the world famous composer’s music in addition to works by other composers chosen and conducted by Thomas Adès (b. 1971). One of the highlights of the festival’s program was the world première of Märchentänze in its version for violin and orchestra performed by violinist Pekka Kuusisto, Adès’ long-time artistic partner. This new album by the Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra includes four recent and exciting orchestral works written by the composer between 2016 and 2021 in world première recordings.

In addition to the Märchentänze, this album includes Adès’ orchestral Hotel Suite from Powder Her Face, an adaptation based on the music from the opera through which Adès first made a widespread name for himself in the mid-1990s. The orchestral version of Lieux retrouvés, originally written for Steven Isserlis, could be described as a cello concerto in the spirit of Marcel Proust. Orchestral work Dawn was written for the 2020 London Proms for ‘orchestra at any distance’, due to the coronavirus pandemic. Adès’ Dawn comes across as timeless music floating in a serene universe of beauty all its own.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 07, 2022

  • Catalog Number: ODE 1411-2

  • UPC: 761195141120

  • Label: Ondine

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Contemporary

  • Composer: Thomas Ades

  • Conductor: Nicholas Collon

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Pekka Kuusisto, Tomas Nunez