Adler: Music for Chamber Orchestra / Kim, Farah, Kim, Neidich, Smith, Kim, New York Chamber Players

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
The music of Samuel Adler – born in Mannheim in 1928 but long since one of the leading figures of American music – has its roots in the Neo-Classical clarity of composers like Copland and Hindemith, who were among his teachers. The works on this album arose from a range of impulses: a Neo-Baroque concerto grosso and a tribute to Bach encase a series of tributes to lost individuals and traditions; and two jeux d’esprit – Ives’ tongue-in-cheek Variations on America and Holst’s ‘Jupiter’ from The Planets – both bring jollity in Adler’s idiomatic arrangements for string orchestra.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 01, 2022

  • Catalog Number: TOCC0642

  • UPC: 5060113446428

  • Label: Toccata Classics

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Samuel Adler

  • Conductor: Dongmin Kim

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: New York Classical Players