1. Bach: 6 Suites for Cello Solo BWV 1007-1012 / Kloeckner

Bach: 6 Suites for Cello Solo BWV 1007-1012 / Kloeckner

Regular price $22.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

A highly regarded representative of the new generation of cellists, Benedict Kloeckner has been championed by such maestros as Daniel Barenboim and Sir Simon Rattle. With a discography including an acclaimed recording of the Schumann Cello Concerto nominated for the German Record Critics prize, Kloeckner also demonstrates a great interest in new music. He plays an Italian Cello by Francesco Rugeri (Cremona 1690), formerly played by Maurice Gendron. In this three-album set he tackles the sacred summit of the solo cello repertoire, rightly pointing out that the lack of original manuscripts for the Six Suites leaves them especially open to individual interpretation. Yet he takes a further step in making this recording his own, interpolating between each of the suites miniature compositions for solo cello that he commissioned from composers on six different continents under the motto “Sounds of Light”, thereby placing Bach’s Western European masterworks in dialogue with music from across the globe in our own time.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 22, 2021

  • Catalog Number: BRI96403

  • UPC: 5028421964034

  • Label: Brilliant Classics

  • Number of Discs: 3

  • Composer: Bongani Ndodana-Breen, Dai Fujikura, Elena Kats-Chernin, Eric Tanguy, Geoffrey Gordon, Johann Sebastian Bach, Jose Elizondo

  • Performer: Benedict Kloeckner