Solo Bach-Abel / Boulanger - ArkivMusic

Solo Bach-Abel / Boulanger

Regular price $26.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
This is Lucile Boulanger’s first solo recital. The French gambist, universally praised for her natural and moving playing – BBC Music Magazine even described her as ‘the Jacqueline du Pré of the viola da gamba’ – juxtaposes Bach with Carl Friedrich Abel, a great master of the bass viol and a close friend of the Bach family. Although Johann Sebastian never wrote for solo viola da gamba, we know that he transcribed many of his works for other instruments. So Lucile Boulanger has chosen, for example, to transcribe three dances from the Sixth Suite, ‘because it sounds particularly good on the viol, being written for five-stringed cello (a step towards the six or seven strings of the viol?). It is in D, the viol key par excellence, and its style, already somewhat galant, is reminiscent of Abel… This album gives me the opportunity to showcase the viol as both a melodic instrument – with the grain of the bow, the fragility of tone – and a polyphonic one.’

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 28, 2022

  • Catalog Number: ALPHA783

  • UPC: 3760014197833

  • Label: Alpha

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Abel, Carl Friedrich Abel, Bach, Johann Sebastian Bach, Boulanger, Lucile Boulanger

  • Performer: Lucile Boulanger