Bach: Weihnachtsoratorium / Kuijken, La Petite Bande

Regular price $21.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Reissue. Originally released in 2014. The audio clip below associated with this release is from the original issuance of this title. - ArkivMusic

An account that reflects the latest information and researches on 'period instruments' practice. A 'one to a part' standard - for both voices and instruments.

The Christmas Oratorio is actually not an ‘oratorio’ in the mold of, for instance, Bach’s Ascension Oratorio or Handel’s Messiah. It is a series of 6 separate cantatas, collectively relating the story from Christmas through to Twelfth Night. Bach wrote the work in Leipzig in 1734 and 1735 for Christmas Day (I), Boxing day (II), the third day of Christmas (III), New Year (IV), the Sunday after New Year (V), and Twelfth Night (VI).

As with the Passions, the texts here are drawn from three sources: (1) the evangelical texts (primarily Luke and Matthew) intoned by the Evangelist (tenor) as recitatives, (2) chorales from the Lutheran tradition and (3) free texts for arias and some choral passages, written by the poet Picander.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 13, 2023

  • Catalog Number: CC 72966

  • UPC: 608917296624

  • Label: Challenge

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Period: Baroque

  • Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach

  • Conductor: Sigiswald Kuijken

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: La Petite Bande