Balfe: Satanella / Bonynge, Victorian Opera Orchestra

Regular price $29.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Composer Michael William Balfe composed 29 operas, and around 250 other pieces. He is best known for his opera The Bohemian Girl. Balfe’s opera Satanella was his 23rd opera, and was premiered at Covent Garden in 1858. The work is a hybrid of classical opera tradition and stand-alone songs. This release is performed by the John Powell Singers and the Victorian Opera Orchestra under the direction of Richard Bonynge.


Bonynge is unsurpassed in this repertoire; he keeps it zipping buoyantly along, effortlessly supporting his singers and clearly relishing every baleful horn call, rippling harp and languishing cello solo. His cast, too, feels near-ideal. The young Chinese-born tenor Kang Wang is a Rupert of considerable dash, and Sally Silver sings the title-role…with sweetness and sparkle.

– Gramophone

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 11, 2016

  • Catalog Number: 8660378-79

  • UPC: 730099037877

  • Label: Naxos

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Composer: Michael Balfe

  • Conductor: Richard Bonynge

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: John Powell Singers, Victorian Opera Orchestra

  • Performer: Anthony Gregory, Catherine Carby, Christine Tocci, Elizabeth Sikora, Frank Church, Kang Wang, Quentin Hayes, Sally Silver, Travor Bowes


  1. Satanella

    Composer: Michael Balfe

    Ensemble: John Powell Singers, Victorian Opera Orchestra

    Performer: Travor Bowes (Bass), Catherine Carby (Soprano), Frank Church (Baritone), Anthony Gregory (Baritone), Quentin Hayes (Baritone), Elizabeth Sikora (Mezzo Soprano), Sally Silver (Soprano), Christine Tocci (Mezzo Soprano), Kang Wang (Tenor)

    Conductor: Richard Bonynge