Beethoven: Christ on the Mount / Herreweghe, Orchestra of the Champs-Élysées

Regular price $20.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Beethoven wrote that he composed the oratorio Christus am Ölberge (Christ on the Mount of Olives) in just "a fortnight, amid all sorts of tumult and other unpleasant and alarming events in my life." It marked the first time since the two ‘imperial cantatas’ of 1790, the Cantata on the Death of the Emperor Joseph II WoO 87 and the Cantata on the Accession of Leopold II WoO 88, that he had embarked on a multi-movement vocal work. Christus am Ölberge was also Beethoven’s first composition on a religious subject and was destined to remain his only oratorio.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 25, 2022

  • Catalog Number: LPH039

  • UPC: 5400439000391

  • Label: PHI

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Classical

  • Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven

  • Conductor: Philippe Herreweghe

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Collegium Vocale Gent, Orchestre des Champs-Elysees