Beethoven: Piano Concertos Nos. 2 & 4 / Vogt, Royal Northern Sinfonia

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

This recording is the final volume in Lars Vogt’s new cycle of Beethoven’s Piano Concertos on Ondine. It includes Piano Concertos Nos. 2 and 4, two outstanding examples of Beethoven's writing. Conducting Royal Northern Sinfonia from the keyboard, Vogt’s fresh interpretations of Beethoven concertos have been widely welcomed, and recently he was nominated for Artist of the Year 2017 by the Gramophone magazine.

Beethoven’s 2nd Piano Concerto was largely written before 1789. The work was premiered in 1795 with Beethoven debuting as piano soloist. This early work shows the influence of Mozart but at the same time it is a powerful evidence of Beethoven’s development as a composer towards maturity. Beethoven’s 4th Piano Concerto is considered by many as his best achievement in the field of piano concerto. Beethoven opens this work in a revolutionary way by means of a calm dialogue between the piano and the orchestra. The second movement includes some of the most dramatic music that Beethoven ever wrote – only to be contrasted by the boundless joy and freedom of the final movement. Lars Vogt was appointed the first ever “Pianist in Residence” by the Berlin Philharmonic in 2003/04 and enjoys a high profile as a soloist and chamber musician. His debut solo recording on Ondine with Bach’s Goldberg Variations was released in August 2015 and has been a major critical success. Lars Vogt started his tenure as Music Director of the Royal Northern Sinfonia in September 2015.


It’s perhaps no coincidence, given that Vogt is currently Music Director the Royal Northern Sinfonia, that the rapport between the soloist and this highly accomplished band of musicians is everything it should be, and more. These are marvelous performances, and the recordings, derived from live performances at Sage Gateshead, serve them well.

– Gramophone

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 02, 2018

  • Catalog Number: ODE 1311-2

  • UPC: 761195131121

  • Label: Ondine

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven

  • Conductor: Lars Vogt

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Royal Northern Sinfonia

  • Performer: Lars Vogt


  1. Concerto for Piano no 2 in B flat major, Op. 19

    Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven

    Ensemble: Royal Northern Sinfonia

    Performer: Lars Vogt (Piano)

    Conductor: Lars Vogt

  2. Concerto for Piano no 4 in G major, Op. 58

    Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven

    Ensemble: Royal Northern Sinfonia

    Performer: Lars Vogt (Piano)

    Conductor: Lars Vogt