Beethoven: Symphony No. 2 - Dean: Testament / Jurowski, Bavarian State Orchestra

Regular price $20.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Those present at the Munich Nationaltheater for the 1st Academy Concert of the 20/21 season, will remember it as a special moment. Subsequent to concert venues being forced to close in March 2020, this was one of the first post-lockdown public performances anywhere, as well as being Vladimir Jurowski’s second concert with the Bayerisches Staatsorchester in his role as designated general music director.

On the program: Beethoven’s Second Symphony, which was also played during the opening concert of the Musikalische Akademie in 1811. Its conceptual magnitude and tonal vehemence make this symphony – listened to with an attentive ear – far more than simply a precursor of Eroica. It was preceded on this occasion by Brett Dean’s Testament, a contemporary orchestral piece which engages with Beethoven’s music, his thoughts and his emotional state. This live concert recording vividly captures the anticipation and excitement felt on the night, as well as the bold endeavor to offer a fresh perspective on a purportedly familiar work.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: July 15, 2022

  • Catalog Number: BSOREC0002

  • UPC: 4028098000005

  • Label: Bayerische Staatsoper Recordings

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven, Brett Dean

  • Conductor: Vladimir Jurowski

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Bayerisches Staatsorchester