Petrenko Conducts the Berlin Philharmonic [Limited Edition Vinyl]

Regular price $267.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

A “musical snapshot of the early collaboration between the Berliner Philharmoniker and myself, and at the same time the initial spark of our association”, as Kirill Petrenko describes the edition in the foreword. Three repertoire strands are outlined here: first, there is the music of Russia, which Kirill Petrenko grew up with, and is represented here by Tchaikovsky’s Symphonies No. 5 and 6. These are performances in which not only the passion and power of these works unfold fully, but also their details and fine nuances. Another of Kirill Petrenko’s interests is that of unjustly forgotten composers. As examples of this, the edition presents two composers on the cusp between late-Romanticism and Modernism: Rudi Stephan and Franz Schmidt. The latter’s Fourth Symphony is presented here: music full of sonority and pain and at the same time a favourite of Kirill Petrenko.

And then – as a further cornerstone of the partnership – there is German-Austrian Classicism and Romanticism. The importance of this repertoire to Kirill Petrenko is demonstrated by the prominent place Ludwig van Beethoven occupied in his concerts to open the 2018/19 and 2019/20 seasons, when the Seventh and Ninth Symphonies respectively were programmed. Both performances are also documented here. Now, for the first time, these special recordings appear in a high-quality vinyl edition limited to 1,500 copies on 6 LP with a 56-page clothbound accompanying book and the option of hi-res download.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: June 16, 2023

  • Catalog Number: BPHR200352

  • UPC: 4260306183524

  • Label: Berlin Philharmonic Media

  • Number of Discs: 6

  • Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven, Franz Schmidt, Rudi Stephan, Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

  • Conductor: Kirill Petrenko

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Berliner Philharmoniker