Berkeley, Brahms & Leshnoff: Horn Trios / Cooper, Kerr, Weiss

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

The viability of the horn trio was definitively established by Brahms in 1865. He had learned the natural horn as a child and infused his Trio with a range of moods, including a deeply felt slow movement in honor of his mother who had died earlier in the year and a carefree finale which explores the horn’s hunting legacy. Inspired by this precedent, Lennox Berkeley’s Trio is lively and characterful with a sequence of ingenious and playful variations. GRAMMY-nominated Jonathan Leshnoff is one of America’s leading contemporary composers and his 2016 Trio moves from darkness to light, and is full of pointed syncopations, before arriving at a joyous conclusion.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 13, 2023

  • Catalog Number: 8579137

  • UPC: 747313913770

  • Label: Naxos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Romantic, 20th Century, Contemporary

  • Composer: Lennox Berkeley, Johannes Brahms, Jonathan Leshnoff

  • Performer: David Cooper, Alexander Kerr, Orion Weiss


  1. Trio for Violin, Horn, and Piano, Op. 44

    Composer: Lennox Berkeley

    Performer: David Cooper (Horn), Alexander Kerr (Violin), Orion Weiss (Piano)

  2. Trio for Violin, Horn, and Piano in E Flat Major, Op. 40

    Composer: Johannes Brahms

    Performer: David Cooper (Horn), Alexander Kerr (Violin), Orion Weiss (Piano)

  3. Trio for Horn, Violin, and Piano

    Composer: Jonathan Leshnoff

    Performer: David Cooper (Horn), Alexander Kerr (Violin), Orion Weiss (Piano)