Biber: ‘Rosary’ Sonatas / Letzbor, Ars Antiqua Austria

Regular price $11.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Recorded in the beautiful acoustics of the parish church of Hallstatt (Austria), where Gunar Letzbor was born, this personal and dramatic interpretation of Biber’s most popular work, usually referred to today as the ‘Mistery’ or ‘Rosary’ sonatas, comes back after years of absence. Gunar Letzbor makes his journey through the ‘mysteries’ or events in the life of the Virgin Mary using two different violins and accompanied by no fewer than six musicians playing kaleidoscopic combinations of harpsichord, organ, lute, archlute, two bass viols and double bass - a big continuo group which enhances and intensifies the changing moods of the cycle.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 08, 2021

  • Catalog Number: A902

  • UPC: 3760195739020

  • Label: Arcana

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Period: Baroque

  • Composer: Heinrich Ignaz Franz von Biber

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Ars Antiqua Austria

  • Performer: Gunar Letzbor