Bloch: Israel Symphony, Suite for Viola & Orchestra / Atlas

Regular price $13.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Bloch’s so-called Jewish Cycle—the Israel Symphony, Schelomo, Trois Poèmes Juifs and the String Quartet—earned the composer the kind of esteem in America that had been lacking in Europe. The Israel Symphony, premièred in Carnegie Hall in 1917, is the cycle’s centrepiece and originally intended as a gigantic three-part work, but later reduced in size. Powerful and evocative, it also fuses pastoral and sensuous elements in a rich tapestry. The award-winning Suite for Viola and orchestra or piano is a rhapsodic but cyclical tour de force, a ‘vision of the Far East’, in Bloch’s own words.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 8573283

  • UPC: 747313328376

  • Label: Naxos

  • Composer: Ernest Bloch

  • Conductor: Dalia Atlas

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Atlas Camerata, Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Adriana Kohútková, Denisa Hamarova, Katrina Kramolisova, Michal Macuha, Terezia Bajakova, Yuri Gandelsman


  1. Israel

    Composer: Ernest Bloch

    Ensemble: Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra

    Performer: Terezia Bajakova (Mezzo Soprano), Denisa Hamarova (Alto), Adriana Kohútková (Soprano), Katrina Kramolisova (Soprano), Michal Macuha (Baritone)

    Conductor: Dalia Atlas

  2. Suite for Viola and Orchestra

    Composer: Ernest Bloch

    Ensemble: Atlas Camerata

    Performer: Yuri Gandelsman (Viola)

    Conductor: Dalia Atlas