Borodin, Glazunov, Mussorgsky & Rimsky-Korsakov: Dances of Light / Masurenko, Yaruss Quartet

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

The familiar in a new guise – Tatjana Masurenko and the Yaruss Quartet are therefore in good company when they clothe the music of the Russian Romantics in novel acoustic garments. Using viola, soprano domra and alto domra, accordion and double bass, they play 19th century works in their own arrangements, using gut strings for all of their instruments, the domras sounding somewhat like Italian mandolins. In this guise, compositions by Rimsky-Korsakov, Musorgsky, Borodin and Glazunov seem lighter, more open and agile, their music expressing a fresh elegance with different colours, taking on a completely new character.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: July 07, 2023

  • Catalog Number: PH23020

  • UPC: 881488230208

  • Label: Hänssler & Profil

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Alexander Borodin, Alexander Glazunov, Modest Mussorgsky, Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Yaruss Quartet

  • Performer: Tatjana Masurenko