Brahms: The Piano Trios / Geringas, Zilberstein, Irnberger

Regular price $34.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
For this complete recording of Johannes Brahms' piano trios, the internationally successful Salzburg violinist Thomas Albertus Irnberger chose his usual top-class ensemble partners. Irnberger has long had an intense artistic friendship with the versatile cellist David Geringas, who, like the Russian-born pianist Lilya Zilberstein, can point to a number of recordings that are as long as they are impressive. The Piano Trio No. 1 in B major op. 8 can be heard here in the revised version, which closes the time gap of almost 25 years to the other two trios (No. 2 in C major Op. 87 and No. 3 in C minor Op. 101), since the revision took place after the completion of these works and thus at the peak of Brahmsian compositional art. For the Trio for Clarinet, Violoncello and Piano in A minor Op. 114, Brahms envisaged the viola as an alternative instrumentation from the very beginning, which is mastered by Irnberger as brilliantly as the violin.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: May 13, 2022

  • Catalog Number: GR99251

  • UPC: 9003643992511

  • Label: Gramola Records

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Period: Romantic Era

  • Composer: Johannes Brahms