Wundertute / Contact 4tett

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

The CONTACT 4TETT plays experimental improvised music with elements of Jazz, Art Rock, Modern Chamber Music and Sound Art. The history of CONTACT 4TETT begins in 1970, when bassist Alois Kott, drummer Michael Jüllich and clarinetist Theo Jörgensmann formed the CONTACT TRIO. After initial small successes, the group played as a newcomer at the Frankfurt Jazz Festival and toured several times through southern Germany and Switzerland, but the band broke up after two years. Theo Jörgensmann was replaced by guitarist Evert Brettschneider, with whom the group had already worked in an extended line-up. This occupation was internationally successful.

At the beginning of 1980, Michael Jüllich left the CONTACT TRIO, which was also one of the first progressive, professional jazz groups in the Ruhr area and had released 3 LPs by then. With Peter Eisold on drums, the group played until 1984 and then disbanded. Since 2015 there has been a new edition of the band as CONTACT 4TETT, which includes the former soloists in the band Theo Jörgensmann, who now plays alto clarinet, and Evert Brettschneider. New members are Kai Kanthak, electric bass and Sascha Sauerborn, drums and electronics. The CD WUNDERTÜTE is the first by CONTACT 4TETT for the label jazzwerkstatt.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 21, 2023

  • Catalog Number: JW224

  • UPC: 4250317420732

  • Label: Jazzwerkstatt

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Jazz

  • Composer: Evert Brettschneider, Theo Jorgensmann, Kai Kanthak, Sascha Sauerborn

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Contact 4tett

  • Performer: Theo Jorgensmann