Bruckner: Symphony No. 4

Regular price $21.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Anton Bruckner's Fourth Symphony, the so-called "Romantic", is characterized by a long history of development, stretching from the first drafts in 1874 to the third version in 1888. However, this version, which was common until the 1950s, was rejected in the "version dispute", and instead the second version from 1878/80 became the prevailing version during the second half of the 20th century. The third version was only rediscovered in 1996 by the Bruckner researcher Benjamin Korstvedt and re-edited in 2004. This version, regarded by Bruckner as the final version, which contains a few cuts and mainly tempo adjustments in favor of a slower playing style, was presented by conductor Rémy Ballot and the Altomonte Orchestra at the St. Florian Brucknertage Festival 2021.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 08, 2022

  • Catalog Number: GRAM99261

  • UPC: 9003643992610

  • Label: Gramola

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Romantic

  • Composer: Anton Bruckner

  • Conductor: Rémy Ballot

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Altomonte Orchester St. Florian