Bruckner: Symphony No. 7 / Järvi, Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

The first performance of Anton Bruckner’s Seventh Symphony at the Zurich Tonhalle took place on 14 January 1924, to mark the centenary of the composer’s birth. Under the direction of Walter, Furtwängler, Klemperer, Böhm and Karajan (to name but a few!), the orchestra has since given many performances of this monumental work which was its composer’s first great success and which the conductor Hermann Levi considered ‘the most significant composition since the death of Beethoven’. The orchestra’s Brucknerian tradition is perpetuated with this cycle conducted by its music director Paavo Järvi, which will continue with the Eighth and Ninth Symphonies until 2024, the year of Bruckner’s bicentenary.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 27, 2023

  • Catalog Number: ALPHA932

  • UPC: 3760014199325

  • Label: Alpha

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Romantic

  • Composer: Anton Bruckner

  • Conductor: Paavo Jarvi

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Tonhalle-Orchester Zurich