Burgess: Complete Guitar Quartets / Mēla Guitr Quartet

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Composer and novelist; Anthony Burgess; was a remarkably diverse artist. The three guitar quartets on this album range from the well-crafted First Quartet intended as a homage to Ravel; while the Second and Third Quartets explore virtuoso technique alongside adventurous and at times haunting harmonies and polytonality. A selection of Burgess’s arrangements for guitar quartet are also featured; including Holst’s Mercury; the Winged Messenger from The Planets. Three of Burgess's orchestral works can be heard on 8.573472 and The Bad-Tempered Electronic Keyboard: 24 Preludes and Fugues on Grand Piano GP773.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: September 22, 2023

  • Catalog Number: 8574423

  • UPC: 747313442379

  • Label: Naxos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Traditional, Anthony Burgess, Gustav Holst, Carl Maria von Weber

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Mela Guitar Quartet