Cervetto: 6 Sonatas for 3 Violoncellos / Zeller, Frezzato

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Six Sonatas or Trios for three Violoncellos or two Violins and a Bass, is the title of op. 1, published in London by Giacobo Basevi Cervetto between 1741 and 1745 circa. To the modern ear, it is curious to hear the terms sonata and trio referred to as synonyms: in fact, the genre – which in effect did experience a certain confusion regarding the terminology – is known today as the sonata a tre. As Cervetto was a cello concert musician, it is not surprising that his sonatas were composed for three violoncellos (two cellos and bass); the alternative of playing them with two violins was probably dictated by commercial reasons in order to interest a vaster public. We maintain that it is important to rediscover these sonatas who are little known to the public of today. These wonderful and unusual Sonatas are played on original instruments by Martin Zeller & Marco Frezzato.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: June 02, 2017

  • Catalog Number: MVC005011

  • UPC: 8032632230113

  • Label: MVC

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Giacobbe Basevi Cervetto

  • Performer: Marco Frezzato, Martin Zeller, Nicola Dal Maso, Roberto Bevilacqua, Stefano Demicheli