Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, Brahms / Harnoncourt, Chamber Orchestra of Europe - ArkivMusic

Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, Brahms / Harnoncourt, Chamber Orchestra of Europe

Regular price $41.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
This set is a testament to a remarkable collaboration between the conductor Nikolaus Harnoncourt (1929-2016) and the Chamber Orchestra of Europe (COE) and its release this year marks the Orchestra’s 40th anniversary. These recordings also trace the relationship between Harnoncourt and the Styriarte Festival which started in 1987 and lasted for over 30 years. The COE became Harnoncourt’s orchestra of choice for the classics played on modern instruments. He had been the pioneer of the exploration of period- appropriate style from the early 1950s with the Concentus Musicus Wien, and followed this by exploring how modern instruments could respond in the classics by adapting to the style without having to change the instruments they were playing. Harnoncourt wanted the players to take risks and perhaps fail rather than play safe. In rehearsal, he often told the performers that great music was always on the edge of catastrophe!

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 28, 2022

  • Catalog Number: ICAC5161

  • UPC: 5060244551619

  • Label: ICA Classics

  • Number of Discs: 4

  • Composer: Franz Joseph Haydn, Haydn, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Mozart, Ludwig van Beethoven, Beethoven, Johannes Brahms, Brahms

  • Conductor: Nikolaus Harnoncourt

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Chamber Orchestra of Europe