M.A. Charpentier: David & Jonathas / Mechelen, Arnaud, Jarry, Ensemble Marguerite Louise

Regular price $39.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

This is a baroque dream: a performance of the sacred drama David and Jonathas, a masterpiece by Charpentier and one of the miracles of French opera, in the Royal Chapel of Versailles! In 1688, the Louis-le-Grand Jesuit school performed this vibrant version of the fateful, fusional love between David and Jonathas… and the inevitable confrontation between their armies. Their deep friendship – biblical love – leads to the death of Jonathas in the arms of the victorious David. The intense emotion exuded by this piece is amplified by the staging, sets and costumes, under the stirring direction of Gaétan Jarry: a sumptuous, dazzling baroque vision.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: June 09, 2023

  • Catalog Number: CVS102

  • UPC: 3760385430072

  • Label: Chateau de Versailles

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Period: Baroque

  • Composer: Marc-Antoine Charpentier

  • Performer: Reinoud Van Mechelen, Caroline Arnaud, Gaetan Jarry, Marguerite Louise