Damase: Music for Flute, Violin, Viola & Harp / Noakes, Webb, Smissen, Langdon

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Anna Noakes, concerto and recording soloist with BBC Concert Orchestra and RNSO has performed at the QEH, Wigmore Hall and Purcell Room as soloist, recitalist and chamber musician as well as at many of Britain’s most respected Festivals, such as Cheltenham, Brighton, Leicester, Salisbury, City of London and Dartington. Her playing has inspired composers such as Simon Holt, Martin Yates, Cecilia McDowall, John Ashton Thomas, Dave Heath and Martin Butler to write for her. Anna has recorded numerous CD’s for Dutton, ASV, Naxos and Guild of both solo and chamber music, many of which have received Gramophone Magazine’s coveted “Critics Choice”.

Anna broadcasts for BBC Radio3 and Classic FM and works as Guest Principal Flute with the LPO, Philharmonia, RPO, the Orchestra of the Royal Opera House and ENO’s together with ECO, Northern Sinfonia, CLS, Locrian Ensemble and Britten Sinfonia. She is also in demand to record the music for Film and TV, scores that include, Kingsman, Golden Circle, James Bond, Lord of the Rings, Stardust, Hugo, Arthur, Chicken Run, Golden Compass, Black Swan, Narnia series, Harry Potter, Shrek, Da Vinci Code, Bridget Jones and Love Actually to name a few.

Professor of Flute at Trinity College of Music for seventeen years, Anna has given masterclasses for BFS, RAM, RNCM, GSMD, DIC Dublin, Cork School of Music and is currently the woodwind coach for both World Youth Orch, LSSO and Cambridge University. Anna is a founder member of the South American Folk Ensemble ‘INCA’ and was for ten years the Artistic Director of the Yoxford Arts Festival.

The inherently civilised music of the composer and pianist Jean-Michel Damase (1928–2013) reflects, to an endearing degree, the combination of subtlety, mastery and – as we hear in this collection – the inspiration and lasting high quality of wind playing in his native France. This inherent quality for long encouraged the country’s composers to write with a particularly sensitive ear for the possibilities of wind instruments – few national composers in the twentieth-century could write for such soloists and ensembles with the felicity and natural inspiration as the French exhibited.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 17, 2023

  • Catalog Number: QTZ2152

  • UPC: 880040215226

  • Label: Quartz Music

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Jean Michel Damase

  • Performer: Anna Noakes, Bob Smissens, Hugh Webb