Dawn to Dust / Fischer, Utah Symphony

Regular price $21.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
The pieces on this album are world premieres, commissioned for the Utah Symphony’s 75th anniversary. The works on this album are from composers Augusta Read Thomas, Nico Muhly, and Andrew Norman. The Utah Symphony became widely recognized as a leading ensemble after its inception in 1940. The symphony is under the direction of Thierry Fischer.


This excellent release presents three inviting, evocative new works commissioned and recorded to celebrate the 75th anniversary of the Utah Symphony. Each piece is a unique, virtuosic essay for the ensemble, and Thierry Fischer leads his players with confidence through a daunting program, captured in stunning sound.

This is essential listening for fans of new American orchestral music. The triptych gives a fascinating cross-section of current trends, and Reference Recordings’ “Fresh!” moniker is an incredibly accurate description of the results. The notes on the pieces are by the composers themselves, and it is interesting to see how the prose and musical writing mirror each other. Full personnel listing of the wonderful Utah Symphony is included. Recorded sound is demonstration quality. Highly recommended!

– Concerto.net (Marcus Karl Maroney)

Dawn to Dust' is the apt title of this new release on the Reference Recordings Fresh! label of works commissioned from three leading American contemporary composers by the Utah Symphony as part of the orchestra's 75th anniversary celebrations during the 2015/2016 season. All three works here receive their world premier recordings in scrupulously prepared performances conducted by Thierry Fischer, the orchestra's Music Director.

As is to be expected from this audiophile label, the sound quality is awesome. The wide dynamic range of the recording allows both the subtlest string pianissimos and the loudest percussive climaxes to be reproduced with equal fidelity – every instrument clearly identified within a soundstage that possesses convincing width and depth. Though recorded live, audience noise is inaudible and applause has also been excised.

Exemplary notes on these compositions written by their respective composers complete this stimulating release.

– HRAudio.net (Graham Williams)

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: FR-719SACD

  • UPC: 030911271923

  • Label: Reference Recordings

  • Composer: Andrew Norman, Augusta Read Thomas, Nico Muhly

  • Conductor: Thierry Fischer

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Utah Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Colin Currie