Dependent Arising - Shostakovich & Maneein: Violin Concertos / Barton Pine, Muñoz, RSNO

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Violinist Rachel Barton Pine’s 26th recording for Cedille Records, Dependent Arising, reveals surprising confluences between classical and heavy metal music by pairing Shostakovich’s Violin Concerto No. 1 in A minor, Op. 77 with Earl Maneein’s “Dependent Arising” — Concerto for Violin and Orchestra, performed with the Royal Scottish National Orchestra under the baton of Tito Muñoz.

Known for her virtuosity, expressive playing, and extensive repertoire, Pine discovered her love for heavy metal as a teenager, and later performed at rock radio stations where she would intersperse covers of songs by Black Sabbath, AC/DC, and Metallica with works by Paganini and Ysaÿe. The album explores connections between modern classical music and heavy metal and showcases Pine’s unique journey with these two seemingly disparate genres.

Now a staple of the classical concerto repertory, Shostakovich’s emotionally charged Violin Concerto No. 1 also holds a special place among metal enthusiasts, with its diverse movements ranging from haunting Nocturne to relentless Burlesque. Earl Maneein’s “Dependent Arising” pushes the boundaries of traditional concerto composition and draws inspiration from the Western European classical music tradition, the world of “Extreme Metal,” and the composer’s practice as a Buddhist. Maneein ia also an acclaimed violinist and composer known for his unique and innovative fusion of western classical music, heavy metal, and hardcore punk,

The album was produced by the Grammy-winning team of James Ginsburg and engineer Bill Maylone, with session engineering by the RSNO’s Hedd Morfett-Jones. It was recorded January 7–8, 2022 at Scotland’s Studio, Glasgow.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: August 11, 2023

  • Catalog Number: CDR 223

  • UPC: 735131922326

  • Label: Cedille

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century, Contemporary

  • Composer: Dmitri Shostakovich, Earl Maneein

  • Conductor: Tito Muñoz

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Royal Scottish National Orchestra

  • Performer: Rachel Barton Pine


  1. Violin Concerto No. 1 in A Minor, Op. 77

    Composer: Dmitri Shostakovich

    Ensemble: Royal Scottish National Orchestra

    Performer: Rachel Barton Pine (Violin)

    Conductor: Tito Muñoz

  2. Dependent Arising

    Composer: Earl Maneein

    Ensemble: Royal Scottish National Orchestra

    Performer: Rachel Barton Pine (Violin)

    Conductor: Tito Muñoz