Deux / Kopatchinskaja, Leschenko

Regular price $20.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

For her third album on Alpha, Patricia Kopatchinskaja is joined by a highly talented pianist whose approach to music is as extremist as hers, Polina Leschenko. Together they explore pieces that have many points in common. The Hungarian violinist Jelly d’Arányi, grandniece of Joseph Joachim, was a ‘muse’ to both Bartók and Ravel. In 1922 and 1923, she premiered the two Bartók sonatas for violin and piano and Ravel dedicated Tzigane to her. He wrote to Bartók: ‘You have convinced me to compose for our friend, who plays so fluently, a little piece whose diabolical difficulty will bring to life the Hungary of my dreams; and since it will be for violin, why don’t we call it Tzigane?’ Of course, Tzigane by Patricia Kopatchinskaja, who has been playing and dancing this music since her childhood in Moldova, does not sound like salon music . . . After a much-fêted recital at Wigmore Hall in 2017, the Financial Times wrote: ‘In another life, Patricia Kopatchinskaja might have been a rock star. This is a violinist who loves taking risks . . . But the final reward was worth waiting for: a denouement of astonishing force.’



The performances brim with personality, individuality, and panache. Every reading here works like a dream; no doubt in part because the three main works’ Hungarian folk roots are a perfect partner to her own Moldovan folk heritage.

– Gramophone

Product Description:

  • Release Date: February 23, 2018

  • Catalog Number: Alpha387

  • UPC: 3760014193873

  • Label: Alpha

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Béla Bartók, Francis Poulenc, Léo Delibes, Maurice Ravel

  • Performer: Patricia Kopatchinskaja, Polina Leschenko