Dvorak: From the New World & Other Works / Nelsons, Opolais, Gewandhausorchester Leipzig [Blu-ray]

Regular price $41.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
This Blu-ray Disc is only playable on Blu-ray Disc players and not compatible with standard DVD players.

Also available on standard DVD
Recorded live at the Gewandhaus zu Leipzig in May 2017, this release features a delightful concert by the Gewandhausorchester Leipzig and conductor Andris Nelsons. For the program, the conductor has chosen works by Antonin Dvorak, including the Othello Concert Overture, and his famous Symphony No. 9 in E minor- “From the New World.” Also featured in this concert is young soprano Kristine Opolais. Acknowledged as one of the most exciting sopranos before the public today, she made her debut in October 2010 at the Bavarian State Opera House in Munich in the title role of the new production of Dvorak’s Rusalka directed by Martin Kusej. It seems only fitting that she return to Dvorak for this performance. This recording was made during Andris Nelsons first season as Gewandhauskapellmeister.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: ACC10419

  • UPC: 4260234831580

  • Label: ACCENTUS Music

  • Composer: Antonín Dvořák, Bedrich Smetana

  • Conductor: Andris Nelsons

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Gewandhausorchester Leipzig

  • Performer: Kristine Opolais