Dvorak: Symphonies Nos. 7 & 8 / Alsop, Baltimore Symphony

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.


Making a major mark in this repertoire isn’t the easiest thing for any conductor to do, not with so many distinctive performances already on disc. But Alsop has a genuine affinity for the composer’s music, and can clearly deliver the goods. Alsop holds her own in terms of the big picture, leading a performance of the Seventh that ultimately carries substantial expressive weight. It is the same for Symphony No. 8, which emerges with lots of character and warmth. In both works, the BSO produces a vivid, disciplined sound.

– Baltimore Sun

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 8572112

  • UPC: 747313211272

  • Label: Naxos

  • Composer: Antonín Dvořák

  • Conductor: Marin Alsop

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Baltimore Symphony Orchestra