Dvořák: Symphony No. 8 - Suk: Serenade / Jansons, Bavarian Radio Symphony

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Since its premiere in Prague in 1890, Dvořák’s Eighth Symphony has become one of the composer’s most-performed works. Josef Suk, Dvořák’s son-in-law and student-is obviously influenced by Dvořák, but displays his compositional skills in his own right in his Serenade for Strings. Consistently praised for his interpretation of Slavic music, Mariss Jansons conducts the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks in this live recording.


This disc contains three very fine performances and I thoroughly enjoyed it all. The BR Klassik recording is very good indeed. I’ve come to expect clarity and very pleasing, natural sound from this label and this latest disc is another excellent example of their work.

--MusicWeb International (John Quinn)

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 08, 2016

  • Catalog Number: 900145

  • UPC: 4035719001457

  • Label: BR-KLASSIK

  • Period: Romantic

  • Composer: Antonín Dvořák, Josef Suk

  • Conductor: Mariss Jansons

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra