Eberl: Concerto & Sonatas for 2 Pianos / Giacommetti, Fukuda

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

“The two concertos are distinguished by their classical musical language rich in ideas and their colorful instrumentation. Eberl’s music radiates with a lightness similar to that of Mozart, which is why the later confusion about the authorship of their works comes as no surprise. The piano part has a glistening and brilliant sound, while the orchestra forms a richly instrumented accompaniment. The melodic invention and harmonic structure are of timeless beauty.” This is what klassik.com wrote of the Vol. 1 featuring the piano concertos of Anton Eberl. Vol. 2 with his Concerto for Two Pianos op. 45, a work highly esteemed by his contemporaries, has a stylistic design adhering to the ideals of Viennese classicism and stands out for its multifaceted instrumentation. Eberl too seemed to have had a high opinion of this work. Whenever it was possible, he performed it during his concert tours throughout Germany, for example, in Berlin with Giacomo Meyerbeer, who was not even fifteen years old at the time. The release also includes the two Sonatas for Piano Four Hands op. 7, works proving to be very demanding in their piano parts as well as in their compositional structure.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 777733-2

  • UPC: 761203773329

  • Label: CPO

  • Composer: Anton Eberl

  • Conductor: Michael Alexander Willens

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Cologne Academy

  • Performer: Paolo Giacometti, Riko Fukuda