Ein feste Burg ist unser Gott / Meunier, Jacobs, Vox Luminis

Regular price $36.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

This new release is devoted to the Lutheran liturgical repertory from Martin Luther himself to Heinrich Schutz. The first half of the release comprises compositions specific to the Lutheran liturgy: Deutsche Messe, Deutsches Magnificat, Deutsche Passion (the first German polyphonic Passion, by Joachim von Burck) and even a reconstruction of a Deutsches Requiem drawn from polyphonic works that set the same texts as those Brahms was later to use for his Deutsches Requiem. The second half presents a selection of motets arranged according to the liturgical calendar, from Advent to Trinity. These polyphonic pieces were written by a wide range of composers including Martin Luther, Andreas Hammerschmidt, Michael Praetorius, Joachim von Burck, Christoph Bernhardt, Heinrich Schu¨tz, Thomas Selle, Melchior Franck, Caspar Othmayr, Michael Altenburg, Samuel Scheidt, Johann Hermann Schein and Johann Walter. The organist Bart Jacobs completes the programme with a few organ pieces by seventeenth-century composers.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: RIC153

  • UPC: 5400439001534

  • Label: Ricercar

  • Composer: Andreas Hammerschmidt, Caspar Othmayr, Delphin Strungk, Heinrich Scheidemann, Johann Hermann Schein, Michael Altenburg, Michael Praetorius, Paul Siefert, Samuel Scheidt