Elcock: Orchestral Music, Vol. 3

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
This third volume of orchestral music by the Anglo-French composer Steve Elcock (b. 1957) features two symphonies and a quasi-concerto. Over the course of its two movements, the Sixth Symphony, subtitled Tyrants Destroyed, moves from grief to outrage, rising to a grimly triumphant conclusion. The one-movement Seventh – with some of its material derived from the words of a song Elcock heard in a dream – runs a gamut of emotion, from anger to heartbreak, in its impassioned narrative. Manic Dancing, a piano concerto in all but name, inhabits a complex world of driving rhythms, nostalgic flashbacks and hectic dance music – buoyant and good-natured, like Martinu on speed.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 04, 2022

  • Catalog Number: TOCC0616

  • UPC: 5060113446169

  • Label: Toccata Classics

  • Period: 21st Century

  • Composer: Steve Elcock

  • Conductor: Dmitri Vasiliev

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Siberian Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Marina Kosterina