Elgar: Dream of Gerontius, Symphony No 1 / De Waart, Auty, Breedt, Hancock

Regular price $32.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
This is a hybrid Super Audio CD playable on both regular and Super Audio CD players.

It takes an impressive performance for Elgar to come alive for me, as he does in this recording by Edo de Waart and the Royal Flemish Philharmonic, both subtle and fiery. The First Symphony, in particular, burns under a surface sheen, and “The Dream of Gerontius” is intensely played and firmly sung.

– New York Times

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: PTC5186472

  • UPC: 827949047268

  • Label: Pentatone

  • Composer: Sir Edward Elgar

  • Conductor: Edo de Waart

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Ghent Collegium Vocale, Royal Flemish Philharmonic

  • Performer: John Hancock, Michelle Breedt, Peter Auty