Elmas: Complete Piano Works, Vol. 1 / Ayrapetyan

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Armenian pianist and composer Stephan Elmas was a child prodigy who met Franz Liszt and became closely acquainted with Rubinstein and Massenet. Elmas’s life was darkened by illness and the tragedy of his homeland, but his music reflects the ease and facility of his technique, harking back to the Romanticism of Chopin, Liszt and Schumann, rather than the challenging times in which he lived, and with a quality of craftsmanship that gives his music a magnetic attractiveness. Mikael Ayrapetyan continues his acclaimed exploration of rediscovered Armenian piano repertoire with the first in this series of Elmas’s complete works for piano.


All in all, this was a highly enjoyable recital…What Elmas, and in turn Ayrapetyan, prove throughout this recital is that there is still quite a bit to say in these styles and musical language.

-- Fanfare

this first volume in a complete series is to be welcomed. Mikael Ayrapetan’s performances bring this music to life and make for a very enjoyable collection. This volume places the Seven Nocturnes together with a number of BalladesBarcarolles and Romance in Eb Major.

-- Lark Reviews

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 14, 2022

  • Catalog Number: GP914

  • UPC: 747313991426

  • Label: Grand Piano

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Late Romantic

  • Composer: Stephan Elmas

  • Performer: Mikael Ayrapetyan