Eric Le Sage plays Poulenc

Regular price $24.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

The enchanting piano music of Francis Poulenc deserves to be better known. Perhaps the finest exponent it has enjoyed on record is the French artist Eric Le Sage. called his recording of the concertos the finest single disc available, “better even than the composer’s recordings, and that’s saying a lot. They have everything: style, spirit, a vivid sense of fun, a touch of sentiment that never turns maudlin, and that ability to change moods every few bars that Poulenc always requires. Beautifully clean, well-balanced sonics round out this enticing picture.” BBC Music Magazine declared: “Eric Le Sage is an outstanding Poulenc pianist.” All his recordings of the composer are now brought together in this 6-CD box.


As well as the piano music 0 which he plays with an ideal balance of insouciance and intensity - there are the two piano concertos and the Aubade, and all the sonatas, with a superb lineup of soloists. Buckets of charm here, in very good sound.

– Gramophone (12/2016)

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 28, 2016

  • Catalog Number: 88985321992

  • UPC: 889853219926

  • Label: Sony Music Entertainment

  • Number of Discs: 6

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Francis Poulenc

  • Conductor: Stéphane Denève

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Liège Philharmonic Orchestra

  • Performer: Ab Koster, Emmanuel Pahud, Eric Le Sage, François Leleux, François Salque, Frank Braley, Frédéric Lodéon, Frédéric Mellardi, Gilbert Audin, Kolja Blacher, Mathieu Dufour, Michel Portal, Nicolas Vallade, Paul Meyer