Falla, Fauré & Sibelius: Songes / Vignon, Czech Virtuosi

Regular price $20.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

For the fourth solo album by pianist Élodie Vignon on Cypres, we have long been dreaming of a recording with orchestra! And so begins this fruitful collaboration with Eric Lederhandler, head of the Czech Virtuosi ensemble, of which he has been guest conductor for the past twenty years. Just as Élodie Vignon's first three albums which weave links between music and poetry, this one presents a unique programme, designed by Élodie and Eric to give pride of place to both orchestra and piano.

Manuel de Falla's Nuits dans les jardins d’Espagne quickly established itself as a masterpiece, combining finesse with the need to translate popular Spanish folklore with wit. They are an evocation of Andalusia, and more particularly of gypsy music. Gabriel Fauré's Ballade pour piano et orchestra adds a touch of French Romanticism to this programme.

Leader of the Finnish national school, Jean Sibelius appears here in two different guises through symphonic pieces, ranging from the most exalted Retour de Lemminkäinen to the most intimate of The Bard.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: February 09, 2024

  • Catalog Number: CYP1685

  • UPC: 5412217016852

  • Label: Cypres Records

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Manuel de Falla, Gabriel Faure, Jean Sibelius

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Czech Virtuosi

  • Performer: Elodie Vignon, Eric Lederhandler