Passion on 10 Strings - Spanish Music & Tango for Guitar & Viola / Corti, Jonkers

Regular price $20.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

The Spanish pieces on this CD became famous mainly as solo guitar compositions by the three Catalan master pianists Isaac Albéniz, Joaquín Malats and Enrique Granados. I have often played them that way in concerts as well. In 2019, Nicolas and I had the idea to transcribe these works combined with works by Astor Piazzolla for viola and guitar. Since then, we have enjoyed playing this music in numerous concerts. The viola-guitar combination gives these compositions a whole new dimension. Compared to the solo guitar versions, the works appear in a completely new light, allowing the compositions to emit transparency and a variety of tonal colors.

The Spanish music of the CD program alternates with music by one of the most frequently performed works of Manuel de Falla (1876–1946), and the Argentine composer Astor Piazzolla (1921–1992). Piazzolla is considered the great innovator of the Tango, the “Tango Nuevo”. He originally composed the “Histoire du Tango” for flute and guitar. The other compositions are short character pieces, all of which we have arranged for viola and guitar. The two movements “Bordel-1900” and “Café-1930” evoke the history of Tango in their respective eras. “Bordel-1900” goes back to the beginnings of the Tango. The new dance form was played in the brothels of Buenos Aires around this time. As “1930” marked a new era, the Tango was no longer danced as it was around 1900, and people limited themselves to listening to it. The Tango becomes more musical and romantic, the movements become slower, new harmonies are added. The music takes on a strong melancholic streak.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 21, 2023

  • Catalog Number: TXA22169

  • UPC: 4250702801696

  • Label: TYXart

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Manuel de Falla, Astor Piazzolla, Enrique Granados, Joaquin Malats, Isaac Albeniz

  • Performer: Nicolas Corti, Han Jonkers, Joaquin Malats, Isaac Albeniz, Astor Piazzolla