Andráe, Smyth, Bonis: First Ladies / Vogel, Cesetti

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
One could hardly intuit from these fresh and flowing violin sonatas the obstacles their female composers had to face - family opposition for Mel Bonis in France and Ethel Smyth in England, institutional conservatism for Elfrida Andrée in Sweden. It has taken a century and more for that initial prejudice to fall away, and they are now beginning to attract a fair hearing for their music. What ultimately matters, of course, is not whether composers are male or female but whether they write good music, and these three sonatas - melodically expansive, rhythmically vivacious, harmonically warm - point to the musical riches that further exploration of their creators' output will uncover.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: July 16, 2021

  • Catalog Number: TOCN0013

  • UPC: 5060640070134

  • Label: Toccata Next

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Elfrida Andrée

  • Performer: Annette-Barbara Vogel