Franck: Complete Orchestral Works

Regular price $39.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Orchestral music played a key role in the output of César Franck throughout his career. He accorded an important and innovative place to the symphonic poem, a new genre of the Romantic era: Ce qu’on entend sur la montagne actually dates from 1846, two years before Franz Liszt’s composition of the same name! As a virtuoso pianist himself, Franck also produced a number of concertante works, from early pieces written for his own performance – a few brilliant sets of variations and a youthful concerto – to the famous Symphonic Variations (1885). The Symphony in D minor of 1887 was one of the cornerstones of the renewal of the genre in France, coming between Saint-Saëns’s Third Symphony (1886) and Chausson’s Symphony (1899). The Orchestre Philharmonique Royal de Liège presents here the first genuinely complete survey of this orchestral and concertante repertory, assembling recordings from recent years and some new productions.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 08, 2022

  • Catalog Number: FUG791

  • UPC: 5400439007918

  • Label: Fuga Libera

  • Number of Discs: 4

  • Period: Romantic

  • Composer: Cesar Franck

  • Conductor: François-Xavier Roth

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Royal Liege Philharmonic Orchestra