Rossini: Complete Piano Music - Péchés de vieillesse (Sins of Old Age) / Marangoni

Regular price $64.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Rossini drew a line under his hugely successful operatic career at the age of 37 and wrote little until his final years in Paris, where he became renowned for his musical salons. For these he wrote numerous short piano pieces which he jokingly called Péchés de vieillesse (Sins of Old Age): sometimes experimental miniatures that can raise a smile or touch the heart, blurring boundaries between the irreverent and the serious. Rossini’s publisher Antonio Pacini considered the composer’s late works as his most illustrious period: ‘what he composes daily is a series of masterpieces that seems as though it will never end.’ Including songs and fascinating novelties, this acclaimed complete edition contains a myriad of rarities and numerous world premiere recordings.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: November 26, 2021

  • Catalog Number: 8501306

  • UPC: 730099130646

  • Label: Naxos

  • Number of Discs: 13

  • Period: Classical, Romantc

  • Composer: Gioachino Rossini

  • Conductor: Marco Berrini

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Ars Cantica

  • Performer: Alessandro Luciano, Alessandro Marangoni, Alessandro Masi, Antonio Masotti, Bruno Taddia, Cecilia Molinari, Enrico Dindo, Giuseppina Bridelli, Laura Giordano, Lilly Jørstad, Marco Olivero, Maria Candela Scalabrini, Massimo Quarta, Sabino Manzo, Ugo Favaro, Vittorio Prato